22. March 2017

Sicoya wins ‘Start Up Energy Transition Award’

Innovative business ideas for the energy tradition rewarded

Sicoya wins ‘Start Up Energy Transition Award’
Andreas Kuhlmann, Chief Executive of dena, and Adnan Z. Amin, Director General of IRENA, with Sicoya, winner of the ‘Future Production & Manufacturing’ category. Photo: Stageview – Pedro Becerra/Deutsche Energie-Agentur GmbH (dena), German Energy Agency
The winners of the ‘Start Up Energy Transition Award’, presented by the Deutsche Energie-Agentur (dena) – the German Energy Agency – have now been confirmed. Six start-ups from France, Germany, India, Bangladesh and Nigeria have received the award, persuading the jury with their innovative ideas for the energy transition and worldwide climate protection. A prestigious international jury chose the start-ups out of more than 500 applications from 66 countries. In total 18 finalists were invited to Berlin to present their ideas and business models at the ‘Start Up Energy Transition-Tech Festival’, which has brought start-ups together with company representatives from all over the world. More than 100 partners and ambassadors from over 25 countries supported the initiative. Divided into six categories, the awards were presented before an audience of prestigious conference delegates at the evening event of the Berlin Energy Transition Dialogue – the German Federal Government’s international energy transition conference. Presenter of the awards were Patricia Espinosa, General Secretary of the United Nations Framework Convention on Climate Change (UNFCCC): Thomas Birr, Senior Vice President, Innovation & Business Transformation (innogy); Dr Katrin Leonhardt, Director of the Credit Institute for Reconstruction (KfW); Felix Zhang, Group Executive Director of Envision Energy; Adnan Amin, Director General of the International Renewable Energy Agency (IRENA); and Tanja Gönner, Board Spokesperson for the German Corporation for International Co-operation (GIZ).   The ‘Start Up Energy Transition Award’ winners:

Category: Urban Energy Transition

BeeBryte – Building Energy Intelligence (France):
BeeBryte has developed a cloud-based software solution that is designed to optimise energy consumption. Jury’s justification: The jury chose Beebryte as the winner of this category, as it offers a unique and comprehensive solution to make prosumage work in buildings. Although there are many companies working in this field, the market is rapidly growing and is a crucial success factor for making the global energy transition work.  

Category: Cleantech against Climate Change

Hydrogenious Technologies GmbH (Germany):
The Liquid Organic Hydrogen Carrier technology provides a solution for secure, reliable storage of hydrogen. Jury’s justification: Hydrogenious’ solution opens up a lot of opportunities for climate benefit in a non-all-electric world. Their technology can make a huge contribution to the decarbonisation in various sectors.  

Category: Future Production & Manufacturing

Sicoya GmbH (Germany):
Sicoya has developed cost-effective, energy-efficient and scalable optical transceiver chips for server connections that can be mass produced. Jury’s justification: The demand for data centres is growing exponentially worldwide. Sicoyas solution is very scalable, can generate huge efficiency gains and the benefits are clearly quantifiable.  

Category: Mobility meets Energy Transition

Thermal Energy Service Solutions Private Limited (TESSOL) (India):
the company has built an electrically operated cold transport solution based on ‘Thermal Energy Storage’ technology, which works on the ‘Plug&Chill’ system. Jury’s justification: The jury chose TESSOL because cooling systems can have high impact in increasing the efficiency of food provision worldwide. TESSOL was able to clearly demonstrate the benefits of their technology in saving CO2 emissions and fossil fuels.  

Category: Platforms and Communities

ME SOLshare (Bangladesh):
With its micro-grid, ME SOLshare provides energy in regions of Bangladesh that are not yet connected to the electricity grid, enabling local users to trade the electricity produced. Jury’s justification: The technology shows how to seamlessly connect individual PV solutions into a microgrid, creating social benefits through its community oriented design. The approach is scalable not only to the Bangladeshi market, but worldwide in off-grid regions.  

Category: The Special Prize category: Sustainable Future For All: Startup SDG 7

ColdHubs (Nigeria):
Cold Hubs is a modular ‘Plug & Play’ cooling system that can be operated with solar energy off existing electricity grids, and which gives farmers the option of paying for their consumption via a pay-as-you-store system. Jury’s justification: ColdHubs  presents a simple solution to a complex global problem. It enables farmers to increase their income by reducing losses of  their otherwise perishable produce. The technology is applicable to many industries.   ‘We were impressed by the vast number of outstanding, innovative business models for the energy transition that were sent in by applicants from all over the world,’ said Andreas Kuhlmann, Chief Executive of dena. ‘Our aim with the Start Up Energy Transition Award was to bring together pioneers and enablers of the global energy transition, so as to establish an international network of companies, start-ups and sustainably managed organisations. That’s because we can only make climate protection and the energy transition a worldwide success model with the help of innovation.’ “We’re excited by the innovative power of the ideas submitted” said Felix Zhang, Group Executive Director of Envision Energy and member of the awards jury. “It’s not just the prizewinning business models that show how a future with clean, safe and abundantly available energy is possible. The other ideas and initiatives, too, are an important step in this direction”. More information on the finalists and winners of the ‘Start Up Energy Transition Award’ can be found at More information on the Berlin Energy Transition Dialogue can be found at  

Press contact:

Deutsche Energie-Agentur GmbH (dena)
Stella Matsoukas
Chausseestraße 128 a
10115 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 726165-657
Fax: +49 30 726165-699
Internet: DWR eco GmbH
Doreen Rietentiet
Albrechtstraße 22
10117 Berlin
Tel: +49 30 609819-500
Fax: +49 30 609819-509