Awarded Adlershof people and projects


World record back at HZB

Tandem solar cell achieves 32.5 percent efficiency:

The current world record of tandem solar cells consisting of a silicon bottom cell and a perovskite top cell is once again at HZB. The new tandem solar cell converts 32.5 % of the incident solar radiation into…


Dr. Eike Köhnen from HZB is honoured with the Tiburtius Prize

The award honors his outstanding dissertation and his research work on tandem solar cells with perovskites:

On Tuesday, 6 December 2022, Dr. Eike Köhnen received the Tiburtius Prize (First Place) for outstanding dissertations. Eike Köhnen has contributed to significantly increasing the efficiency of tandem solar cells made…


Dr. Sven Ramelow was awarded an Einstein Junior Fellowship

The Einstein Foundation Berlin supports the HU scientist's research in the field of quantum optics:

The experimental physicist and head of the Emmy Noether junior research group "Nonlinear Quantum Optics", Dr. Sven Ramelow, is doing research in the project "Sensors with entangled photons in the middle infrared" at…


Prof. Oussama Moutanabbir honoured with the IKZ International Fellowship Award 2022

The scientist receives the award for his pioneering contributions to the field of SiGe-based Quantum Materials:

The future is Quantum. Quantum technologies are unfolding and the associated research and developments on high‑quality quantum materials are driving this revolution. The Leibniz-Institut für Kristallzüchung (IKZ) is…


Ultrafast molecular chirality: twisting light to twist Electrons

Olga Smirnova receives an ERC Advanced Grant:

Olga Smirnova receives a prestigious Advanced Grant from the European Research Council (ERC) which supports, for a period of 5 years, basic research on developing new methods for controlling and imaging ultrafast…


Kathrin Goldammer honoured as one of 15 Electric Women

RLI Managing Director is one of the world's most remarkable women working to electrify mobility:

For the fourth time, the Transformative Urban Mobility Initiative (TUMI) acknowledges the world’s most remarkable women in mobility with a dedicated publication, this year honoring them as Electric Women. The 2022…


Dr. Amran Al-Ashouri receives 2021 Adlershof Dissertation Award

The physicist researched how highly efficient tandem solar cells can be developed using new organic contact materials.:

On 17 February 2022, the Adlershof Dissertation Award was given out for the 20th time. This year’s award went to Dr. Amran Al-Ashouri (third from left) and included a prize money of 3,000 euros. It is jointly endowed…


Young Scientist 2022 – Lia Beraldo da Silveira Balestrin

The Brazilian researcher received the award announced by LUM GmbH for her work on asphaltene deposition in crude oil:

From January 24th to 25th, 2022, LUM GmbH hosted the 10th International Conference for Dispersion Analysis and Materials Testing. 90 participants from 24 countries around the world took part. Five candidates from…


Walter-Schottky-Award for Felix Büttner

Award for his outstanding work in solid state research:

The Walter Schottky Prize honours outstanding work by young physicists in solid-state research. For 2022, the award goes to HZB physicist Dr Felix Büttner for his groundbreaking achievements in the field of magnetic…


Stifterverband certifies Helmholtz Centre Berlin for strategies in dealing with diversity

HZB is the first non-university research institution to complete the Diversity Audit “Vielfalt gestalten”:

The Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin (HZB) is the first non-university research institution to have undergone the Stifterverband's diversity audit "Vielfalt gestalten". The certification attests to the HZB's…


Life Time Achievement Award for Roland Müller

The physicist from Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin has advanced many projects on control systems at accelerators:

Accelerator and control systems expert Roland Müller received the ICALEPCS Lifetime Achievement Award. In the more than thirty years of his career at BESSY, the physicist has advanced many projects on control systems…


Stefan Hecht elected as a Fellow of the European Academy of Sciences

The internationally renowned and award-winning scientist receives renewed recognition:

The European Academy of Sciences (EURASC) has elected Prof. Stefan Hecht, Ph.D., Director of the DWI - Leibniz-Institute for Interactive Materials, Guestprofessor at the Department of Chemistry of HU Berlin and…


Tobias Henschel wins the HZB Technology Transfer Award 2021

Digital bracelet with integrated transparent photovoltaics convinced the jury:

At first glance, it looks like an ordinary wristwatch. But its glass taps the energy of the sun. A research group at Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin has made this possible. Their transparent photovoltaics have now even made…


Freigeist-Fellowship of the Volkswagen foundation for Dr. Nichol Furey

The physicist will conduct research at IRIS Adlershof and Humboldt-Universität zu Berlin:

The mathematicial physicist Nichol Furey (University of Cambridge) has been awarded a Freigeist Fellowship by the Volkswagen Foundation. These Fellowships are aimed at unusual and courageous lateral thinkers from all…